Comments are Off

The Clarkrange Lady Buffaloes faced off against the Hampton Lady Bulldogs in the TSSAA State High School Basketball Tournament Final Four this afternoon. In the game, Clarkrange defeated Hampton 37 to 27 to punch their ticket to the championship game tomorrow night. Clarkrange will face the winner of the South Greene/Summertown contest for the title.

In the final four game today, both teams started off sluggish in the first half. There was no score in the first two minutes of the game. With the score at the end of the 1st quarter 7 to 6 and 12 to 11 at halftime in favor of the Lady Buffaloes, either team was looking to get back on track in a big way.

In the second half, Reece Stover for Clarkrange would get the Lady Buffaloes firing on all cylinders with two back to back steals from Hampton. But the Lady Bulldogs would take the lead for the first time in the game at the end of the 3rd quarter by the score of 23 to 22.

There was several lead changes in the game but that would be the last time Hampton would be ahead.

In the final quarter, Clarkrange put the pressure on the Lady Bulldogs, pulled away and did not give Hampton another chance to get back into the game. Hampton only managed to score 4 points in the final quarter compared to the Lady Buffaloes 15 points.

Kara Meadows was the lead scorer for Clarkrange with 21 points. Hannah Garrett finished with 8 points and Gracie Bush as well as Charity Crabtree each scored 3 points. Reece Stover scored two for the Lady Bulldogs. Meadows, Garrett and Crabtree saw the most playing time with 32 minutes each.

As a team, Clarkrange hit 14 shots out of 28 attempts for 50 percent and sank 7 free throws out of 10 attempts. Hampton was 11 for 36 from the court for 30 percent and 4 out of 10 from the free throw line.

Clarkrange has one more hurdle and this last hurdle is for the TSSAA Class A State Championship. They will face either the defending state champion South Greene or Summerville tomorrow night. Either way, its going to be a great finale to the state title run.