The Tennessee Burn Ban has been lifted for the following counties: Bledsoe, Clairborne, Cumberland, Hamilton, Jefferson, Loudon, Macon, Meigs, Monroe, Rhea, Overton, Putnam, and Van Buren. All Tennessee counties still require a safe debris burning permit now through May 15, 2017 from the Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA) Division of Forestry (exceptions: Da¬vidson, Knox, Madison and Shelby, which never allow debris burning). Permits will only be issued where and when it is determined to be safe to do so. Please check with your county or city for additional restrictions that may apply.
State Agriculture Commissioner Jai Templeton says burn bans for Blount and Sevier Counties remain in place until further notice. The ban applies to all open-air burning including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires, and other fire activity in areas outside of municipalities where local ordinances apply.
Under state law, the Commissioner of Agriculture, in consultation with the state forester, has the authority to issue burn bans at the request of county mayors under certain weather conditions. Requests for a burn ban are considered based on a number of factors including weather, climate, fire danger, fire occurrence and resource availability.
A violation of a burn ban issued by the Commissioner is considered reckless burning and is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months 29 days in jail.