2016 Fall Wildfire Season Situation Update
November 14, 2016; 1200 CST
NUMBER OF FIRES: 67 | ACRES BURNED: 15,914
Calendar year to date
TOTAL NUMBER OF FIRES: 1,211 | TOTAL ACRES BURNED: 34,633
**Fires being fought within the past 24 hour period
• The division responded to 11 new fires statewide for 60 acres over the past 24 hour period.
o West Tennessee District – 1 fire for 2 acres
o Highland Rim District – 3 fires for 40 acres
o Cumberland District – 4 fires for 9 acres
o East Tennessee District – 3 fires for 9 acres
• MAJOR FIRES:
o Neddy Mt (Cocke) 1,007 acres, 70% containment; 2 homes evacuated, several more threatened. Rolling road closures in effect for Highway 25-70
o White Oak Circle (Morgan) 2,432 acres/0% contained
o Flippers Bend (Hamilton) 1000 acres, 90% contained
o Poe Rd. (Hamilton) 550 acres, 40% contained
o Mowbray (Hamilton) 800 acres, 70% contained
o Smith Mt (Sequatchie) 960 acres, 100% contained
o Bench Bluff (Bledsoe) 1,400 acres, 100% contained
o Cliff Tops (Marion) 80 acres, 100% contained
o Best chance of rain is Friday, possibly into Saturday for the western region of the state. The system will weaken as it crosses eastward with diminishing chances of precipitation in the eastern half of the state. Relative humidities will increase with the passage of the system.
o Over the next few days, expect highs temperatures in the mid to upper 60s and lows in the upper 30s.
o McMinn was added to the list of counties under a Commissioner of Agriculture burn ban. This brings the total to 13 Tennessee counties: Bledsoe, Claiborne, Cumberland, Hamilton, Jefferson, Loudon, Marion, McMinn, Monroe, Polk, Robertson, Sequatchie and Sevier. A violation of a burn ban is considered reckless burning and is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months 29 days in jail.
o Counties not listed under the ban require a safe debris burning permit. For now, those permits are not expected to be issued until substantial precipitation is received. A violation of burning without a permit is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor which carries a fine of $50 and/or up to 30 days in jail.
o Current county burn bans, additional fire safety tips and wildfire information can be found on the TDA Division of Forestry’s wildfire prevention website at www.burnsafetn.org.
COMPLETE REPORT: http://www.burnsafetn.org/